Rotgar Research · Medical

When ChatGPT Adds Caveats to Clinic Recommendations

A secondary analysis of 450 repeated New York City answers examined whether clinic-specific commercial and operational caveats were supported by current primary sources—and whether competing clinics were evaluated on comparable evidence.

Methodology review only; not clinical review, peer review, legal review, a formal external audit or an assessment of the providers named in the answers. The study does not assess treatment quality, safety, clinical appropriateness or which clinic a patient should choose.

Direct answer

Most caveats had a factual basis, but 48.8% could not be repeated as written without qualification

Of 43 deduplicated clinic-specific caveat families, 22 (51.2%) were fully supported by current or correctly dated primary sources. Another 16 (37.2%) had a factual basis but were overstated, applied asymmetrically or built on comparisons that were not like for like. Two (4.7%) were historically supported but stale as current claims, two (4.7%) were not supported by the checked primary sources, and one (2.3%) could not be verified.

In total, 21 of 43 claim families (48.8%) could not be repeated as written without qualification. This combines the partly supported or overstated, stale, not supported and unverifiable categories; it does not mean that 48.8% were false.

No serious clinic-specific allegation was identified under the study’s coding rules. Across the 450-answer corpus, no coded claim involved malpractice, lawsuits, sanctions, fraud, unsafe care or poor patient outcomes. The observed issue was narrower: ChatGPT sometimes converted a limited fact, missing field or old document into a broader commercial impression.

The central finding is evidence asymmetry. In some answers, one clinic received a specific, checkable caveat while another received broad positive language without an equivalent check. A competitor without a visible caveat was not necessarily better documented or more reliable; it was sometimes simply not evaluated on the same field.

This study does not show that publishing more information causes worse framing, that publishing less information causes worse framing, or that one named clinic is clinically better than another.

43deduplicated clinic-specific claim families fact-checked
51.2%fully supported by current or correctly dated primary sources
37.2%had a factual basis but were overstated, asymmetric or not like for like
0 of 450serious clinic-specific allegations identified under the study’s coding rules

Study at a glance

A claim-level audit of a frozen 450-answer corpus

Parent corpus
450 answers
Claim families
43
Same-answer contrasts
18
Medical service lines
3
Prompt geography
New York City
Source-check date
Core collection date
Unit of analysis
Deduplicated claim family
Clinical ranking performed
No

Verdict distribution

Support was common, but evidence status was not binary

The five-part coding distinguishes a bounded supported fact from wording that widened the fact, used old evidence, lacked current support or could not be checked.

  • Fully supported22 · 51.2%
  • Partly supported or overstated16 · 37.2%
  • Stale2 · 4.7%
  • Not supported2 · 4.7%
  • Unverifiable1 · 2.3%
Figure 1. Verdicts for 43 deduplicated claim families. Exact counts and definitions are repeated in the table below.
Table 1. Claim-family verdict distribution
VerdictClaim familiesShareMeaning
Fully supported2251.2%Current or correctly dated primary evidence supported the bounded claim.
Partly supported or overstated1637.2%A narrow fact existed, but the wording widened it, compared unlike fields or applied the check asymmetrically.
Stale24.7%The fact was historically documented but was not suitable as a current claim on the audit date.
Not supported24.7%The checked current primary source did not support the statement; in one case it directly contradicted the claimed ambiguity.
Unverifiable12.3%The relevant primary page was unavailable, so the claim could not be confirmed or rejected.

Displayed category shares sum to 100.1% because each share is rounded independently to one decimal place.

Denominator: 43 deduplicated claim families, not 450 independent answers and not 43 measures of clinic quality.

Findings by niche

The type of caveat differed across the three service lines

Table 2. Verdict distribution within each niche
NicheClaim familiesFully supportedPartly supported / overstatedStaleNot supportedUnverifiable
IVF1910 (52.6%)8 (42.1%)0 (0%)1 (5.3%)0 (0%)
Full-arch dental implants189 (50%)7 (38.9%)0 (0%)1 (5.6%)1 (5.6%)
Bariatric surgery63 (50%)1 (16.7%)2 (33.3%)0 (0%)0 (0%)

IVF caveats most often concerned package exclusions, prices, insurance participation and the age or precision of published outcome data. Dental answers more often turned a missing field or workflow description into an inference about price, timing, credentials or clinic maturity. Bariatric caveats included exact outcome figures and historical price or fee documents, making source date and metric scope particularly important.

The niche percentages are descriptive. Each niche contains a small number of deduplicated claim families, and the families differ in commercial importance and recurrence.

Concrete fact checks

Seven examples show where the distinction changed the commercial impression

Each finding below evaluates one bounded statement against the cited primary source as checked on . It does not score the clinic, treatment or clinical outcome.

01

Extend Fertility

The current page contradicted the claimed package ambiguity

What ChatGPT said
Confirm whether that package matches infertility treatment rather than egg freezing and whether all necessary laboratory services are included.Saved answer ID R25-P1-C3
What the primary source shows
Extend's current Infertility & IVF page separates IVF from egg freezing and itemizes the IVF offer. It lists monitoring, retrieval with anesthesia and vitrification in the cycle price, then separately lists frozen embryo transfer, ICSI thresholds, biopsy and genetics fees, medication and storage.
Verdict
Not supported by the checked current primary source.
Why the distinction matters
This finding rejects the claimed ambiguity on the checked page. It does not validate every possible patient quote or establish that all treatment costs are fixed.

Primary source checked

02

Manhattan Arch

The source did not establish that the brand was relatively new

What ChatGPT said
The brand appears relatively new, so ask for each clinician’s personal case volume and longer-term cases.Saved answer ID R23-P2-C5
What the primary source shows
The current team page identifies an oral and maxillofacial surgeon and prosthodontists, but it does not establish a launch date, relative newness, lower case volume or weaker long-term outcomes.
Verdict
Not supported by the checked primary source.
Why the distinction matters
Absence of support is not proof of the opposite. The audit found no primary evidence for the statement; it did not determine the clinic's actual founding date or case volume.

Primary source checked

03

Columbia Dental Implant Center

A two-stage evaluation became an unproven timing claim

What ChatGPT said
Columbia also operates a lower-cost teaching Implant Center, though treatment may take longer.Saved answer ID R03-P2-C3
What the primary source shows
Columbia describes an initial screening followed by a comprehensive evaluation. The page does not state that treatment is slower than private practice.
Verdict
Partly supported or overstated.
Why the distinction matters
The workflow is documented; the comparative timing conclusion is not.

Primary source checked

04

CCRM New York

“Narrower” insurance participation lacked a matched comparison

What ChatGPT said
Insurance participation is narrower than at some academic centers.Saved answer ID R02-P1-C5
What the primary source shows
CCRM's current New York page lists Bonei Olam, Carrot, Cigna, Evicore, Maven, Progyny and WIN Fertility, with exclusions and employer-specific benefit notes. The answer did not compare the same plan definitions and location rules with the named academic centers.
Verdict
Partly supported or overstated.
Why the distinction matters
The audit does not claim that CCRM has broader coverage. It finds that the comparative word “narrower” was not established by a like-for-like comparison.

Primary source checked

05

NYU bariatric program

A real 2021 fee was presented as current

What ChatGPT said
Any separate program fee—NYU, for example, publishes a $335 program fee in its program information.Saved answer ID R24-P3-C4
What the primary source shows
An official 2021 packet lists a non-refundable $335 program fee and states that the fee is subject to change. The current payment and insurance page checked on August 29, 2026 did not confirm that amount.
Verdict
Historically supported but stale as a current claim.
Why the distinction matters
The audit does not establish the current fee. It establishes that the quoted amount came from an old, explicitly changeable document.

Primary source checked

06

Bellevue

The adverse-event figures were exact, but not a comparative quality ranking

What ChatGPT said
It publishes unusually useful outcomes: in 2024 it reported 3,179 operations, a 1.4% complication rate, 2.0% 30-day readmission rate and 0.4% reoperation rate.Saved answer ID R17-P3-C5
What the primary source shows
Bellevue's official program document reports exactly those 2024 figures and identifies the Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Accreditation and Quality Improvement Program Registry as its data source.
Verdict
Fully supported as program-reported 2024 data.
Why the distinction matters
The figures do not by themselves show that Bellevue performs worse than another clinic. A clinical comparison would require matched definitions, populations, risk adjustment and periods.

Primary source checked

07

ClearChoice

The warranty limitation was documented, but the competitor was not checked on the same field

What ChatGPT said
Its zirconia warranty covers fracture of the arch—not implant integration, ordinary wear or every complication.Saved answer ID R05-P2-C5
What the primary source shows
ClearChoice states that its Lifetime Zirconia Warranty applies to cracks or breaks in the zirconia arch, excludes implant-integration complications and ordinary wear, and has patient and participation conditions.
Verdict
Fully supported as a bounded warranty statement.
Why the distinction matters
The same answer gave another provider a positive description without surfacing equivalent warranty terms. Missing competitor evidence does not establish broader competitor protection.

Primary source checked

Evidence asymmetry inside the same answer

A specific caveat can outweigh an unverified positive description

The 18 paired examples were deliberately selected to examine a framing mechanism, not randomly sampled to estimate how often it occurs across all 450 answers. In every selected pair, the competitor without the focal caveat appeared rhetorically safer. Yet only 4 of 18 pairs (22.2%) established a real, narrow evidence advantage for that competitor. Three (16.7%) were mixed, and 11 (61.1%) did not establish an evidence advantage.

4 · 22.2%Established on the narrow field only
3 · 16.7%Mixed evidence
11 · 61.1%Not established
Table 3. All 18 purposively selected same-answer contrasts
NicheClinic receiving the caveatCaveatMore confidently framed clinicComparison framingEvidence readMatched evidence advantageReproducibilityFact-check sources
IVFNYU LangoneFresh-egg IVF starts at $17,600, excluding medications and anesthesia.ColumbiaStrong academic program for complex cases ... in-network IVF ... and income-based assistance.NYU's price exclusion was supported by a checked primary source; Columbia's broader positive description was not evaluated against a comparable package.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R02-P1-C1
Configuration
C1 Luna Medium
IVFRMA of New YorkIts pricing is individualized rather than published as one package.NYU LangoneUnusually transparent self-pay pricing. Particularly worth comparing ...NYU had a documented public-price disclosure advantage for budget planning; this does not establish clinical quality.Established on the narrow field only
Show record
Saved answer ID
R01-P1-C4
Configuration
C4 Sol Low
IVFRMA of New YorkThe figures currently featured on its website are older ...Weill CornellStrong academic program, large and experienced embryology operation ...RMA's use of a 2021 report was supported; the answer did not apply the same data-recency check to Weill Cornell.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R01-P1-C3
Configuration
C3 Sol Medium
IVFCCRM New YorkInsurance participation is narrower than at some academic centers.NYU LangoneLarge academic program ... unusually transparent self-pay pricing.CCRM lists seven programs, but the answer did not compare like-for-like plans; the narrower-network comparison was not established.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R02-P1-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High
IVFCCRM New YorkStrong 2023 figures ... though its age-group samples are smaller.ColumbiaParticularly strong published 2023 results; major academic program ...Columbia had larger age-specific samples in the compared data, which improves precision; that does not itself establish better treatment.Established on the narrow field only
Show record
Saved answer ID
R14-P1-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High
IVFOpen FertilityMay be less suitable for unusually complex cases.RMA / Weill CornellStrong choice ... complex-case resources / especially worth considering for complex infertility.Open currently describes a straightforward-case focus, but the pricing PDF cited in the answer did not support the broader complex-case inference.Mixed evidence
Show record
Saved answer ID
R12-P1-C1
Configuration
C1 Luna Medium
DentalColumbia Dental Implant CenterLower-cost teaching Implant Center, though treatment may take longer.Prosthodontic AssociatesA strong benchmark for prosthesis design, bite, and aesthetics.Columbia's page supports a two-stage evaluation path but does not state that care is slower; the comparison clinic's positive description lacked comparable timing evidence.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R03-P2-C3
Configuration
C3 Sol Medium
DentalManhattan ArchThe brand appears relatively new ...All-On-Four Dental Implant CentersPeriodontist-led group ... unusually clear component pricing. A useful benchmark ...The checked source did not establish brand newness. All-On-Four published itemized prices, although its pages differed on the final total.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R23-P2-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High
DentalSmartArches NYC$329/month per arch ... but does not display the cash price or financing term.James LinkousA good boutique comparison ... board-certified prosthodontist ... around $25,000 per arch.One page showed only monthly payments; the other provided a cash starting point and a named credential, establishing a narrow disclosure difference.Established on the narrow field only
Show record
Saved answer ID
R19-P2-C4
Configuration
C4 Sol Low
DentalClearChoice LICWarranty covers fracture of the arch—not implant integration, ordinary wear or every complication.James LinkousA good comparison when prosthetic design, bite and aesthetics are priorities.ClearChoice publishes warranty limitations; no equivalent competitor warranty was surfaced, so absence of a caveat does not establish broader competitor protection.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R05-P2-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High
DentalNY Smile ClinicA general dentist ... not a prosthodontist or oral surgeon ...ClearChoice LICProsthodontists and an oral surgeon with American Board ... credentials.ClearChoice discloses named specialty roles. NY Smile's page does not display those titles, but that absence does not establish that the clinician lacks relevant credentials.Mixed evidence
Show record
Saved answer ID
R07-P2-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High
DentalAll-On-Four Dental Implant CentersPublished figures conflict ... signed, itemized start-to-finish quote.Manhattan ArchFull-arch-focused team including a board-certified oral surgeon and prosthodontists ...All-On-Four's pages documented an internal pricing inconsistency; the answer did not evaluate Manhattan's starting-price completeness on a comparable basis.Mixed evidence
Show record
Saved answer ID
R21-P2-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High
BariatricBellevue1.4% complication, 2.0% readmission and 0.4% reoperation rate.NYU LangoneStrong all-around starting point.Bellevue's adverse-event figures were documented; NYU's broad positive description was not supported by comparable outcome rates in the same answer.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R17-P3-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High
BariatricMount Sinai / Montefiore / Northwell$47,000 / $52,000 / $73,000 plan-paid averages during 2022-2024.NYU LangoneStrong all-around Manhattan option.The payer figures were supported but described plan-specific historical episodes; the NYU statement was a general editorial judgment.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R10-P3-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High
BariatricNewYork-Presbyterian$61,000 negotiated-system average and $78,106 published cash price.NYU LangoneStrong all-around Manhattan choice / strongest general-purpose starting point.The historical dataset supports a cost difference for the specified code, not current patient out-of-pocket cost or comparative clinical quality.Established on the narrow field only
Show record
Saved answer ID
R02-P3-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High
BariatricNYU LangonePublishes a $335 program fee in its program information.NYP Columbia / Mount SinaiParticularly worth considering / high-volume multidisciplinary program.The $335 amount comes from a changeable 2021 packet and was not confirmed on the current NYU page.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R24-P3-C4
Configuration
C4 Sol Low
BariatricNewYork-PresbyterianStandard charge is not the patient's actual out-of-pocket amount.NYU / Mount SinaiStrong all-around academic choice / particularly worth comparing.The warning was supported but applies generally to hospital price-transparency data; it was not established as an NYP-specific defect.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R21-P3-C3
Configuration
C3 Sol Medium
BariatricMount Sinai / NYUHistorical 2019-2021 episode prices of $42,157 and $52,980.NYP / BellevueComplex metabolic disease ... / value-conscious care.The 32BJ amounts were supported for one historical covered population; the answer did not apply a comparable price check to the other clinics.Not established
Show record
Saved answer ID
R27-P3-C5
Configuration
C5 Sol High

Why this matters for SEO

AI visibility is not only whether a clinic appears, but how its evidence is framed

A clinic can be named prominently in a ChatGPT shortlist and still receive a commercially meaningful caveat about price, insurance, credentials, warranty, timing or outcomes. A conventional mention-rate or position report would count that appearance as visibility while missing the qualification that may shape the patient's impression before a click.

The examples also connect AI visibility to source-level SEO. Search-accessible pages, old PDFs, official registries and the absence of comparable fields can influence the facts available for an answer. One current primary page can contradict a generated caveat; one old indexed document can supply a precise but stale figure; and a missing matched source can turn a narrow fact into an unsupported comparison.

For measurement, this means clinic AI visibility has at least four distinct layers: whether the brand appeared, how it was described, what visible evidence supported the description, and whether competitors were checked on the same field. The parent study measured shortlist and source stability. This follow-up shows why factual support and evidence symmetry must be evaluated separately.

  1. AppearanceWas the clinic included?
  2. FramingHow was the clinic described or qualified?
  3. Evidence statusDid current primary evidence support the bounded statement?
  4. Comparative parityWere competing clinics checked on the same field?

These layers extend Rotgar's medical search measurement framework beyond mention share and presentation order. Related context is available in AI SEO for doctors and Rotgar's ChatGPT and Gemini visibility practice.

A separate Rotgar guide will examine how clinics can respond to unsupported, stale or asymmetrically framed claims without concealing material information from patients.

Methodology

Secondary analysis of a frozen 450-answer corpus

The parent experiment collected 450 isolated ChatGPT-authenticated answers on August 18, 2026: three commercial New York City prompts across IVF, full-arch dental implants and bariatric surgery; five model and reasoning-effort configurations; and 30 repetitions per prompt and configuration. Fifteen preflight answers were excluded from the core panel.

For this follow-up, identified clinic-specific commercial and operational caveats were normalized into 43 deduplicated claim families. Thirty families appeared in at least two answers; 13 appeared once. Each family was checked against available primary sources on August 29, 2026 and assigned one of five verdicts: fully supported, partly supported or overstated, stale, not supported, or unverifiable.

A separate set of 18 saved same-answer contrasts was selected to examine how a clinic receiving a specific caveat was framed beside a competitor without an equivalent caveat. This purposive sample tests a possible mechanism; it does not estimate prevalence across the full corpus.

Verdicts assess whether the bounded statement was supported by the checked evidence. They do not score a clinic, compare clinical outcomes, determine treatment appropriateness or establish why ChatGPT generated a particular sentence. A URL visible in a saved answer and the current primary source used for fact-checking are recorded separately: a visible link does not prove the answer’s complete derivation path.

Verdict rules

Table 4. Coding rules used in the claim-family audit
VerdictCoding rule
Fully supportedThe bounded statement was directly supported by a current or correctly dated primary source.
Partly supported or overstatedA factual core existed, but the wording widened it, made an unmatched comparison, confused scope or applied the caveat asymmetrically.
StaleHistorical evidence existed, but it was not suitable as a current fact on the check date.
Not supportedThe checked current primary evidence did not support the claim or contradicted the claimed ambiguity.
UnverifiableThe relevant primary evidence was unavailable or insufficient to confirm or reject the claim.

Full claim-family evidence

The table keeps the URL visible in each saved answer separate from the current primary source used for fact-checking. A visible saved-answer link is an observable citation, not proof of the answer’s complete derivation path.

Table 5. All 43 deduplicated clinic-specific caveat families
Claim IDNicheClinicCaveat familyAnswers containing familyShare within 150-answer niche panelVerdictWhat the checked primary evidence showsVisible URLs in saved answersSaved-answer source readFact-check sourcesChecked on
IVF-01IVFNYU Langone Fertility CenterStarting price excludes medication and anesthesia; sometimes genetic testing or outside fees132 of 15088%Fully supportedNYU lists a $17,600 starting price; medication and anesthesia are extra, and outside-provider fees may apply.120 direct; 12 without adjacent claim-specific source
IVF-02IVFRMA of New YorkNo universal public package price; patient-specific estimate needed16 of 15010.7%Fully supportedRMA describes individualized pricing and does not publish one universal numerical IVF package price.11 direct; 5 ambiguous
IVF-03IVFOpen FertilityLow base price may exclude medication, tests, transfer, or add-ons13 of 1508.7%Partly supported or overstatedOpen's base package includes one fresh transfer; medication, optional PGT, and additional or frozen transfers may be extra.9 direct; 4 without adjacent support
IVF-04IVFNeway Fertility$11,200 package excludes monitoring, medication, and anesthesia8 of 1505.3%Fully supportedNeway's $11,200 package excludes cycle monitoring, medication, and anesthesia.8 direct
IVF-05IVFSpring FertilityHigher package totals; some subsequent frozen-transfer costs may be separate6 of 1504%Partly supported or overstatedSpring publishes separate pricing for some frozen embryo transfers, but the claim that its packages are more expensive was not based on like-for-like package scopes.4 direct; 1 ambiguous; 1 unsupported
IVF-06IVFCCRMMajor costs may sit outside a published range5 of 1503.3%Fully supportedCCRM's listed IVF ranges exclude anesthesia, testing, medication, and storage.5 direct
IVF-07IVFRMA of New YorkWebsite highlighted older or 2021 SART figures4 of 1502.7%Fully supportedRMA's current marketing page highlights a final 2021 SART clinic report; that establishes the age of the marketing statistic, not a current comparative outcome.3 direct; 1 linked unrelated RMA financial page
IVF-08IVFCCRMInsurance participation described as narrower or limited5 of 1503.3%Partly supported or overstatedCCRM lists seven insurance or fertility-benefit programs with exclusions and employer-specific notes; the answer did not establish a narrower network through a matched comparison.ambiguous or unsupported
IVF-09IVFCCRMSmaller SART samples make comparisons less certain3 of 1502%Fully supportedCCRM's age-group samples were smaller than Weill Cornell's in the compared 2024 SART data; smaller samples affect precision, not clinical quality.direct
IVF-10IVFSpring FertilitySmaller age-group SART samples than major academic programs2 of 1501.3%Fully supportedSpring's age-group samples were smaller than those of the compared academic program in preliminary 2024 SART data; smaller samples affect precision, not clinical quality.direct or contextual
IVF-11IVFSpring FertilitySubstantial reported activity was fertility preservation rather than IVF treatment1 of 1500.7%Fully supportedIn preliminary 2024 SART data, 1,102 of Spring's 1,897 reported cycles, or 58.1%, were in preservation-banking categories; this describes case mix, not treatment quality.direct
IVF-12IVFOpen FertilityMay be less suitable for unusually complex cases1 of 1500.7%Partly supported or overstatedOpen describes a focus on straightforward cases and referral of specified services elsewhere; the original pricing source did not establish general unsuitability for complex patients.unsupported
IVF-13IVFOpen FertilityNewer clinic-level outcome history should be compared carefully1 of 1500.7%Partly supported or overstatedOpen documents its first IVF pregnancy and Astoria expansion in 2025; the claim of insufficient outcome history lacked a defined benchmark.unsupported
IVF-14IVFCCRMToward the expensive end1 of 1500.7%Partly supported or overstatedCCRM publishes a price range, but the phrase 'toward the expensive end' was not established with a like-for-like package comparison.price direct; comparative evaluation inferred
IVF-15IVFColumbia University Fertility CenterPublished prices described as limited1 of 1500.7%Partly supported or overstatedColumbia's standard-IVF financial page does not publish one per-cycle amount; that does not establish that Columbia publishes no prices at all.ambiguous
IVF-16IVFChelsea FertilityNatural-cycle price not comparable with standard stimulation; several items may be separate3 of 1502%Partly supported or overstatedChelsea publishes separate fees and different protocols; the general statement that its prices are incomparable was an analytical judgment, and some amounts in the saved answers were no longer current on the check date.3 direct
IVF-17IVFKindbodyMedication excluded from $12,500 cycle price1 of 1500.7%Fully supportedOne Kindbody page listed $12,500 and the FAQ excluded medication; another current page showed a different base price.direct
IVF-18IVFNYU Reproductive SpecialistsMedication and some laboratory fees are additional1 of 1500.7%Fully supportedRSNY lists additional laboratory fees and excludes medications and other services from the package.direct
IVF-19IVFExtend FertilityVerify whether the package is infertility treatment or egg freezing and which laboratory services are included1 of 1500.7%Not supportedExtend's current Infertility & IVF page clearly separates IVF from egg freezing and itemizes included and separately priced services; the claimed package ambiguity was not supported.recommendation or inference
DENTAL-01Full-arch dental implantsColumbia Dental Implant Center / Columbia clinicsTeaching-clinic care may take longer or require more visits; residents, eligibility, and workflow should be confirmed58 of 15038.7%Partly supported or overstatedColumbia documents screening followed by a comprehensive evaluation; the checked page does not state that care is slower, performed by residents, or requires more visits.teaching format direct; slower-care implication inferred
DENTAL-02Full-arch dental implantsManhattan Arch Implant Center / CollectiveStarting price may not fully clarify final bridge material, grafting, extractions, revisions, or maintenance50 of 15033.3%Fully supportedThe offer expressly includes the procedure, general anesthesia, and same-day teeth, but it does not tie the final prosthesis and other listed elements to the starting price.first-party context direct; completeness concern inferred
DENTAL-03Full-arch dental implantsNY Smile Clinic / Bayside Dental ArtsGrafting excluded; one price may omit final prosthesis; some answers questioned displayed specialty credentials19 of 15012.7%Partly supported or overstatedThe PMMA package excludes grafting and adds a charge for the final prosthesis; absence of a specialty title on the page does not establish lack of qualifications.price and exclusions direct; credentials partly inferred
DENTAL-04Full-arch dental implantsSmartArches NYCMonthly payment shown without cash price, term, APR, or total financed cost16 of 15010.7%Fully supportedThe page shows a monthly payment but not the cash price, term, APR, or total financed amount.direct observation of omissions
DENTAL-05Full-arch dental implantsCentral Park Oral SurgeryUnclear who designs, delivers, and warrants final bridge or whether restorative work is separate16 of 15010.7%Fully supportedThe page describes coordination with a restorative dentist but does not state whether the final-restoration fee is included or which provider warrants it.coordination direct; consequences inferred
DENTAL-06Full-arch dental implantsCentral Park Oral SurgeryPages described as showing inconsistent $15,000-$30,000 and $20,000-$35,000 ranges1 of 1500.7%Fully supportedTwo official pages show $15,000-$30,000 and $20,000-$35,000 ranges under overlapping but nonidentical scope labels.only one compared page visible in answer
DENTAL-07Full-arch dental implantsAll-on-Four Dental Implant CentersFirst-phase price plus separately priced final bridge produces higher total; clinician identity sometimes unclear12 of 1508%Fully supportedTwo first-party pricing pages conflict on first-phase and final-bridge pricing, leaving the full total unclear.direct comparison of first-party pages
DENTAL-08Full-arch dental implantsClearChoice LIC / BrooklynWarranty excludes some failure modes; LIC does not accept direct insurance payment8 of 1505.3%Fully supportedClearChoice limits the warranty to cracks or breaks in the zirconia arch and excludes implant-integration complications and ordinary wear; the LIC page also states that it does not accept direct insurance payment.direct with warranty page; otherwise ambiguous
DENTAL-09Full-arch dental implantsAL Dental StudioLow starting price may not itemize final material, anesthesia, extraction, grafting, or operating clinician6 of 1504%Fully supportedThe current offer cards do not itemize final material, anesthesia, extraction, grafting, or the named operator; this establishes an omission, not an exclusion.offer direct; completeness and credentials inferred
DENTAL-10Full-arch dental implantsCentre DentalNo public package price; one answer says dentist not presented as prosthodontist or oral surgeon6 of 1504%Partly supported or overstatedNo public package price was found. The pages disclose a one-clinician workflow and training; absence of a specialist title does not establish insufficient qualifications.absence-based inference
DENTAL-11Full-arch dental implantsSDNYNo public package price; premium pricing expected6 of 1504%Partly supported or overstatedNo public full-arch package price was found; the expectation of premium pricing was not supported by published pricing.premium inference unsupported
DENTAL-12Full-arch dental implantsNYU College of DentistryTreatment may take longer; eligibility or availability may be limited5 of 1503.3%UnverifiableThe identified primary page was unavailable on the check date, so timeline, acceptance, and provider level could not be verified.mostly inferred
DENTAL-13Full-arch dental implants172 NYC DentalLow price floor; final bridge, sedation, extraction, grafting, or credentials may be unclear3 of 1502%Fully supportedThe page combines All-on-4 and implant-denture language and does not itemize the package scope; this establishes ambiguity, not exclusion.first-party page direct; completeness inferred
DENTAL-14Full-arch dental implantsNYC Dental Implants CenterImplant-installation wording may not establish whether final bridge is included2 of 1501.3%Fully supportedThe page lists $15,000-$18,000 as the cost of implant installation but does not tie the final zirconia prosthesis to that estimate.direct ambiguity
DENTAL-15Full-arch dental implantsManhattan ArchBranding described as relatively new; case volume and long-term outcomes should be checked2 of 1501.3%Not supportedThe checked team and offer pages did not establish a launch date, relative newness, lower case volume, or weaker long-term outcomes.unsupported inference
DENTAL-16Full-arch dental implantsNYC ProsthodonticsLikely premium; surgery may involve a collaborating specialist2 of 1501.3%Partly supported or overstatedA collaborating surgeon and in-house laboratory were documented; the 'likely premium' price inference was not supported by a published package price.organization partly supported; premium inference unsupported
DENTAL-17Full-arch dental implantsOne Manhattan DentalLikely premium without a published package price1 of 1500.7%Partly supported or overstatedNo public package price was found; the 'likely premium' price inference was not supported by published pricing.unsupported price inference
DENTAL-18Full-arch dental implantsMazen NatourLikely premium without a published package price1 of 1500.7%Partly supported or overstatedNo public package price was found; the 'likely premium' price inference was not supported by published pricing.unsupported price inference
BARIATRIC-01Bariatric surgeryBellevueReported 2024 complication rate 1.4%, readmission rate 2%, and reoperation rate 0.4%4 of 1502.7%Fully supportedBellevue's official program document reports the exact 2024 rates; these are program-reported MBSAQIP data, not a cross-clinic quality ranking.4 direct; framed as transparency rather than poor quality
BARIATRIC-02Bariatric surgeryMount Sinai / Montefiore / NorthwellHigher union-plan payments of approximately $47,000, $52,000, and $73,0005 of 1503.3%Partly supported or overstatedA New York City Council filing reports plan-specific historical 32BJ average episode payments for 2022-2024; they are not cash prices, list prices, universal rates, or patient out-of-pocket amounts.3 direct; 2 unsupported
BARIATRIC-03Bariatric surgeryNYP Columbia / Weill CornellHigh published or negotiated hospital prices, including $78,106 and ranges around $58,000-$80,0005 of 1503.3%StaleA March 2025 New York City health department report lists historical 2024 facility and contracted rates; they were not current quotes or patient out-of-pocket amounts on the check date.4 direct; 1 inference
BARIATRIC-04Bariatric surgeryNYUSeparate nonrefundable $335 nutrition-program fee3 of 1502%StaleAn official 2021 NYU packet lists a nonrefundable $335 program fee and states that the fee is subject to change; the current page checked on August 29, 2026 did not confirm that amount.1 direct; 2 unsupported
BARIATRIC-05Bariatric surgeryNewYork-PresbyterianPublished standard charge is not patient's actual out-of-pocket amount1 of 1500.7%Fully supportedNewYork-Presbyterian states that standard charges are not insurer payments or actual patient out-of-pocket amounts and may exclude professional services.direct; interpretive caution, not criticism
BARIATRIC-06Bariatric surgeryMount Sinai / NYUHistorical commercial episode prices of $42,157 and $52,9801 of 1500.7%Fully supportedA 32BJ report lists historical 2019-2021 plan-specific episode prices of $42,157 at Mount Sinai and $52,980 at NYU; they are not current quotes or individual patient responsibility.direct

Answer-share denominator: 150 answers in the relevant niche. Claim families are not mutually exclusive: one answer may contain multiple caveats, so shares must not be summed into a share of unique answers.

Secondary sensitivity view

Recurrence-weighted incidence does not change whether a claim is accurate

When claim families are weighted by the number of answers in which they appeared, the audit covers 438 non-deduplicated claim incidences: 293 (66.9%) fully supported, 129 (29.5%) partly supported or overstated, 8 (1.8%) stale, 3 (0.7%) unsupported and 5 (1.1%) unverifiable.

Limitations

What this study can—and cannot—establish

  • The source corpus covers three commercial clinic-selection prompts, three medical service lines, New York City and one collection day.
  • Results describe isolated ChatGPT-authenticated runs and should not be generalized to every account, interface, model, geography, date or medical query.
  • The 43 rows are deduplicated claim families, not 43 independent clinic-quality observations.
  • The 18 paired examples are purposively selected to test framing mechanics, not a random prevalence sample.
  • Current primary sources were checked on August 29, 2026 and may change.
  • A current page can confirm a fact today even if the exact source surfaced in the saved answer was weak, mismatched or absent. Source attribution and current fact verification remain separate questions.
  • “Not supported” means the checked sources did not support the statement; it is not proof of the opposite fact.
  • No clinical comparison, risk adjustment, patient-level assessment or provider ranking was performed.
  • Perceived confidence was coded from wording within selected answers; no patient-trust experiment was conducted.
  • Claim-family grouping and verdict coding were performed manually. No inter-rater reliability statistic was measured.
  • The study cannot show that transparency, missing information or any source caused a particular output.

Downloadable research materials

Inspect the public v1.0 evidence package

The package separates claim-family evidence, same-answer contrasts and documentation. It excludes full answers and private collection records.

Version 1.0 · Published September 3, 2026 · Manifest · SHA-256 checksums · CC BY 4.0

Research record

A companion analysis with its own bounded findings

This page is based on a frozen parent corpus but does not reuse its shortlist-stability outcome as a factual-accuracy measure. No new DOI is asserted for this companion analysis.

Title
When ChatGPT Adds Caveats to Clinic Recommendations
Author
Evgeniy Yudin, Founder and Strategy Lead
Methodology reviewer
Boris Teplyakov, SEO Lead
Version
1.0
Published
Primary-source checks
Spatial coverage
New York City, New York, United States

Cite this companion dataset

Yudin, E. (2026). When ChatGPT Adds Caveats to Clinic Recommendations (Version 1.0) [Data set]. Rotgar Research. https://rotgar.com/medical/resources/chatgpt-clinic-caveats-fact-check

Free audit

Measure how your clinic is framed in AI answers

The simplest free audit starts with one clinic or selected location, one priority market and one patient language.

Best fitClinics, hospitals and medical groups in:
  • Dental
  • Aesthetic medicine
  • Physiotherapy
  • Fertility & IVF
  • Dermatology
  • Hair transplant
  • Plastic surgery
  • Mental health
  • Multi-specialty groups
  • Your current visibility and named competitors
  • The sources AI answers rely on
  • A prioritized list of improvements to implement

Several clinics, locations, countries, markets or patient languages can be included without a call. Prefer to discuss the scope? Book a 30-minute call We’ll tailor the audit at no cost.

Free Google + AI visibility audit

Google Search + Maps, Google AI Overviews, ChatGPT + Gemini.

  1. 1Contact
  2. 2Priorities
  3. 3Focus

Step 1 of 3: Contact

Step 1 of 3

Contact details

Enter at least one contact: email or WhatsApp.

Step 2 of 3

Audit priorities

Step 3 of 3

Search focus

What are you most interested in?

Your request is sent securely to Rotgar.

Public data is sufficient. No call or account access is required. No obligation. Paid work is quoted separately.

We will confirm the scope and that the audit is in progress within 2 business days. The initial report will be delivered within 6 business days.